Peter Burge Medalists

The Peter Burge Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest First Grade cricketer in the Premier Grade Competition, as judged by the first-grade umpires.

The award is named in honour of Peter Burge, widely regarded as Queensland's finest home-grown batsman. Burge enjoyed a 15-year Sheffield Shield career, scoring 7627 runs at an average of 56.08, including 24 centuries, in 91 matches. He captained Queensland 29 times. He also played 42 Test matches for Australia, scoring 2290 runs at 38.16, including four centuries.

Points are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis for each day of play during the XXXX GOLD District First-Grade Competition, and the winner is announced at the annual Grade Cricket Presentation Dinner.

Previous TDCC winners of the award are:
  • Robert McGhee - 1990/91 (tied with Andrew Hammelmann)
  • Peter Clifford - 1991/92
  • Peter Skuse - 1994/95 (tied with Dom Ovenden and Scott Prestwidge)
  • Derek Tate - 2004/05
  • Chris Lynn - 2009/10