Club History

The Toombul District Cricket Club (Toombul DCC or simply TDCC) is a Queensland Cricket Association cricket club which competes in the Queensland Premier Cricket competition, the top level of cricket played in Queensland.

The Queensland Premier Cricket competition has grade levels from Premier Grade to Fifth Grade, with Toombul fielding teams across five senior grades, as well as an U/18's and an U/16 Lords Taverners side. Toombul also has a comprehensive junior club, Toombul DCC - Juniors which fields age-group sides from under 6's to under 16's, and a Milo in2Cricket programme.

Toombul is equal with Souths as the most successful cricket club in Queensland, having secured 21 Premier Grade premierships in its history, the most recent coming in the 2012/13 season.


Toombul is one of the oldest sporting clubs in Australia, with records dating the club back to 1882.[4] In 1897/98, Toombul was one of the foundation clubs of what has continued to be the highest level of club cricket played in Queensland, the Queensland Premier Cricket competition.

Toombul has been a breeding ground for Test and First Class representatives over the years, and those from Toombul form a who's who of famous cricketing names (including three of Bradman's 1948 Invincibles).

Toombul's 1948 Invincibles

Toombul's Bill Brown also has the distinct honour of being the first and only native Queenslander to captain the Australian cricket team.[5]

Other famous Toombul players include:

Toombul's 2018/19 season Premier Grade squad includes:

  • Australian Test opening batsman Matt Renshaw
  • Queensland Bulls, Brisbane Heat, and Australian One-Day batsman Chris Lynn
  • Queensland Bulls, Tasmania Tigers, Hobart Hurricanes and Australian T20 leg spinner Cameron Boyce

In 1972, two Toombul men - Errold La Frantz and Cec Anstey - were instrumental in the formation of the junior cricket competition in north Brisbane, the Brisbane North Junior Cricket Association.

Queensland Cricket's longest serving official scorer, Judy Harris, is a Toombul DCC life member and began scoring Toombul matches in 1971. From 1986 she served as Queensland Cricket's official scorer, until retiring the pencil in 2014, after scoring over 500 First Class matches including 31 Tests and 63 One-Day Internationals. Upon retirement, a room in the Toombul clubhouse was named The Judy Harris Room in honour of her services to the club.